2022
Special Event
Tasmanian
2022 Subscription Season
THEATRE ROYAL PRESENTS

TAKARA NIPALUNA

3 Feb - 10 Dec 2022 (22 performances)
Thu 3 Feb 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 19 Feb 2022 11:00 am
Thu 3 Mar 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 19 Mar 2022 11:00 am
Thu 7 Apr 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 9 Apr 2022 11:00 am
Thu 5 May 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 14 May 2022 11:00 am
Thu 2 Jun 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 25 Jun 2022 11:00 am
Thu 7 Jul 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 9 Jul 2022 11:00 am
Thu 4 Aug 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 20 Aug 2022 11:00 am
Thu 1 Sep 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 24 Sep 2022 11:00 am
Thu 27 Oct 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 29 Oct 2022 11:00 am
Thu 3 Nov 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 12 Nov 2022 11:00 am
Thu 1 Dec 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 10 Dec 2022 11:00 am

takara nipaluna – ‘Walking Hobart’ is the first and only Aboriginal tour of nipaluna/Hobart.

 

This walk of nipaluna and its waterfront follows the route taken in 1832 by a group of 40 members of the Aboriginal resistance, as they progressed to the old Government House to negotiate an end to the Black War. takara nipaluna – Walking Hobart – gives voice to the palawa (Tasmanian Aboriginal) perspective and continued presence within this modern city, exposing the layers of history beneath the asphalt.


Created by: Nunami Sculthorpe-Green
Dramaturge: Sarah Hamilton


Originally Produced by Performing Lines TAS.

 

 

For more information on takara nipaluna, visit the Website: blackledtours.com

LOCATION

Hobart CBC. Patrons will be advised of meeting place prior to walk.

Tickets

All tickets $50.

*all bookings will incur a $5 Transaction Fee

Duration

1 hour 30 minutes 

Patrons' Advice

This walking tour involves 90 minutes of brisk walking; along the way there are 15 stops, many with seating available, and a toilet break mid-way. It’s a 1.4 km course beginning in the city and finishing near Salamanca. Patrons are advised to dress for the weather. In the event of extreme weather, the tour will be offered as a stationary, indoor talk with a visual presentation.

The walk is wheelchair/pram accessible with small sections of very gentle slopes.

First Nation people please note: Aspects of the tour deal with Tasmania’s dark past and include references to people who have died.