LIMITED TICKETS LEFT
2022
Special Event
Tasmanian
First Nations
2022 Subscription Season
THEATRE ROYAL PRESENTS

TAKARA NIPALUNA

BY NUNAMI SCULTHORPE-GREEN
5 May - 15 Dec 2022 (28 performances)
Thu 5 May 2022 6:00 pm
Thu 19 May 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 21 May 2022 11:00 am
Sat 21 May 2022 3:00 pm
Thu 26 May 2022 6:00 pm
Thu 2 Jun 2022 6:00 pm
Thu 9 Jun 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 25 Jun 2022 11:00 am
Thu 7 Jul 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 9 Jul 2022 11:00 am
Thu 21 Jul 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 30 Jul 2022 11:00 am
Thu 4 Aug 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 20 Aug 2022 11:00 am
Thu 25 Aug 2022 6:00 pm
Thu 1 Sep 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 10 Sep 2022 11:00 am
Sat 24 Sep 2022 11:00 am
Thu 13 Oct 2022 6:00 pm
Thu 27 Oct 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 29 Oct 2022 11:00 am
Thu 3 Nov 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 12 Nov 2022 11:00 am
Thu 17 Nov 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 26 Nov 2022 11:00 am
Thu 1 Dec 2022 6:00 pm
Sat 10 Dec 2022 11:00 am
Thu 15 Dec 2022 6:00 pm
Mathers House

takara nipaluna – ‘Walking Hobart’ is the first and only Aboriginal tour of nipaluna/Hobart.

 

This walk of nipaluna and its waterfront follows the route taken in 1832 by a group of 40 members of the Aboriginal resistance, as they progressed to the old Government House to negotiate an end to the Black War. takara nipaluna – Walking Hobart – gives voice to the palawa (Tasmanian Aboriginal) perspective and continued presence within this modern city, exposing the layers of history beneath the asphalt.


Created by: Nunami Sculthorpe-Green
Dramaturge: Sarah Hamilton


Originally Produced by Performing Lines TAS.

 

For more information on the walking tour and for Frequently Asked Questions, please click here.

 

For more information on takara nipaluna, visit the Website: blackledtours.com

LOCATION

Walking tour starts at Mathers House, located at 108-110 Bathurst St, Hobart TAS 7000 and finishes near Salamanca

Tickets

All tickets $50.

*all bookings will incur a non-refundable $5 Transaction Fee

Duration

1 hour 30 minutes 

Patrons' Advice

This walking tour involves 90 minutes of brisk walking; along the way there are 15 stops, many with seating available, and a toilet break mid-way. It’s a 1.4 km course beginning in the city and finishing near Salamanca. Patrons are advised to dress for the weather. In the event of extreme weather, the tour will be offered as a stationary, indoor talk with a visual presentation.

The walk is wheelchair/pram accessible with small sections of very gentle slopes.
The walk is an amplified tour and guests are required to wear in-ear headphones, you are welcome to bring your own ear buds/headphones however they must have a 3.5mm headphone jack. Bluetooth will not work with our system. If you have any questions or concerns, please call, email or visit the Theatre Royal box office for assistance.

First Nation people please note: Aspects of the tour deal with Tasmania’s dark past and include references to people who have died.