Mon 02 Mar 2020 8:00pm

W.A. Mozart – Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor, K. 478

Ernst von Dohnányi – Serenade for String Trio, Op. 10

Robert Schumann – Piano Quartet in E Flat Major, Op. 47

 Andrew Haveron joined the Sydney Symphony Orchestra as Concertmaster in 2013. One of the most sought-after violinists of his generation, he is highly respected as a soloist, chamber musician and concertmaster.

Tobias Breider is principal violist of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra. Born in Münster, as a soloist he has performed at the Sydney Opera House, the Domain and City Recital Hall, and the Melbourne Recital Centre. As a chamber musician, he has performed at numerous festivals in the USA, Germany, the UK and South Africa.

Umberto Clerici is principal cellist of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra. Born in Turin, he has performed as soloist at Carnegie Hall in New York, Musikverein in Vienna, the Shostakovich Hall of St. Petersburg and Auditorium Parco della Musica in Rome. He is Cello Lecturer at the Sydney Conservatorium and the Salzburg Mozarteum.

Daniel de Borah is widely recognised as one of Australia’s foremost musicians, consistently praised for the grace, finesse and imaginative intelligence of his performances. His busy schedule finds him equally at home as concerto soloist, recitalist and chamber musician.

We have two contrasting quartets: the cool classicism of Mozart against the warm intimacy of Schumann. Separating these is Dohnányi’s late romantic Serenade, inspired by Beethoven’s string trios.

Photographs: Keith Saunders & Darren James

Andrew Haveron, Violin

Tobias Breider, Viola

Umberto Clerici, Cello

Daniel De Borah, Piano

'The ensemble gave a mature and sensitive reading with particularly fine voicing from Andrew Haveron'
Arts Hub
Website designed and developed by Digital Ink Logo