Mon 9 Nov 2020 8:00 pm

Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918) Sonata for Violin and Piano in G minor, L. 140

Arvo PÄRT (1935-) Spiegel im Spiegel  

Francis POULENC (1899 – 1963) Sonata for Violin and Piano, FP 119  

Erich Wolfgang KORNGOLD (1897 – 1957)   Suite, Op. 11- Much Ado About Nothing          

Maurice RAVEL (1875-1937) Sonata No. 2 in G Major for Violin and Piano 


Emma McGrath is a 'First-magnitude star in the making'
The Seattle Times 

British violinist Emma McGrath made her London debut aged 10 in the Purcell Room and at 14 performed Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1, in the Queen Elizabeth Hall with the London Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Howard Shelley. She has since performed with numerous professional ensembles and orchestras, and has played in France, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Brunei, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Russia, Israel, the UK and the USA as a soloist. Since 2016 Emma has been the Concertmaster of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

Meriel Owen enjoys a versatile musical life and is in demand as a pianist and harpist. She is a Churchill Fellow and plays regularly with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra. As a chamber musician she has performed for Virtuosi Tasmania, the Canberra International Music Festival, and Canberra Symphony Orchestra’s Australian Series and Recital Series.

These two distinguished local artists present a wonderful twentieth-century program.                                                     

Photographs: Paul Hoelen & Chris Donaldson

Emma Mcgrath, Violin

Meriel Owen, Piano


Premium $78 / A Reserve $71 / B Reserve $65

Premium $73 / A Reserve $66 / B Reserve $60

*all bookings made via the website will incur a $2 Internet Transaction Fee


Patrons' Advice

Performed at Hobart Town Hall