Stephen Hough

Sat 23 Apr 2016 8:00pm

FRANZ SCHUBERT - Piano sonata no 14, D.784 (1823)
CÉSAR FRANCK - Prelude, chorale and fugue, FWV 23 (1884)
STEPHEN HOUGH - Piano sonata III, Trinitas (2015)
FRANZ LISZT - Valse oubliée no 1, S 215/1 FRANZ LISZT – Valse oubliée no 2, S 215/2
FRANZ LISZT - Transcendental études no 11 in D-flat major, Harmonies du soir, S 139
FRANZ LISZT - Transcendental études no 10 in F minor, S 139

Named by The Economist as one of Twenty Living Polymaths, British pianist Stephen Hough is a rare renaissance man of our time. Over the course of a long and distinguished career as one of the world’s leading concert pianists, he has also excelled as a writer and composer. Hough combines an exceptional facility with a uniquely inquisitive musical personality. His musical achievements have resulted in many awards and accolades for his concerts and more than fifty recordings. He was made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2014 New Year’s Honours List.

Stephen Hough is a nineteenth-century specialist, and this program is unashamedly romantic. From the opening bare octaves of Schubert’s fourteenth sonata, we are swept into a big dramatic emotional world with César Franck’s intense and meditative Prelude, chorale and fugue; Franz Liszt’s late experimental pieces, where extreme virtuosity becomes a sort of passionate mysticism; and, at the heart of the program, Hough’s own Piano Sonata lll, Trinitas. One for piano ‘tragics’.


"A virtuoso who begins where others leave off."
Website designed and developed by Digital Ink Logo