Theatre

Dates:
Friday, 7th August 2015 - 7:30pm
Saturday, 8th August 2015 - 7:30pm
Australia Day at the Theatre Royal

Australia Day

Nothing is sacred as the national identity is put through the ringer in this thoroughly modern ripper of a comedy!

Read more >
Dates:
Friday, 7th August 2015 - 8:00pm
Saturday, 8th August 2015 - 8:00pm
Sunday, 9th August 2015 - 5:00pm
Tuesday, 11th August 2015 - 8:00pm
Wednesday, 12th August 2015 - 8:00pm
Thursday, 13th August 2015 - 8:00pm
Friday, 14th August 2015 - 8:00pm
Wheeler's Luck

Wheeler's Luck

 3 Actors, 50 Characters, 1 Town

Read more >
Dates:
Saturday, 15th August 2015 - 2:00pm
Saturday, 15th August 2015 - 8:00pm
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged)

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged)

The hilarious West End smash-hit comes to Hobart!!

Read more >
Dates:
Wednesday, 26th August 2015 - 7:30pm
Thursday, 27th August 2015 - 7:30pm
Friday, 28th August 2015 - 7:30pm
Saturday, 29th August 2015 - 7:30pm
Dylan Thomas: Return Journey at the Theatre Royal Backspace

Dylan Thomas: Return Journey

PERFORMED IN THE THEATRE ROYAL BACKSPACE

An extraordinary encounter with a literary giant.

Original direction by Anthony Hopkins starring Bob Kingdom as Dylan Thomas

 

Read more >
Dates:
Thursday, 10th September 2015 - 8:00pm
Friday, 11th September 2015 - 8:00pm
Saturday, 12th September 2015 - 8:00pm
The State of the Tasmanian Economy at the Theatre Royal

The State of the Tasmanian Economy

Jonathan’s Biggins is one of Australia’s sharpest political satirists, and this wickedly funny comedy of all things Tasmanian was a hit of the Theatre Royal’s 2014 season.

Read more >
Dates:
Tuesday, 15th September 2015 - 7:00pm
2015JohnBell_photoPierreToussaint

An Evening with John Bell:
A Life with Shakespeare

In his last year as Co-Artistic Director with Bell Shakespeare, the Theatre Royal is proud to announce this special event with John Bell, one of Australia’s national living treasures.

Read more >
Dates:
Thursday, 24th September 2015 - 7:30pm
Friday, 25th September 2015 - 7:30pm
Saturday, 26th September 2015 - 7:30pm
Bell shakespeare's Hamlet at the Theatre Royal

Hamlet

Damien Ryan will deliver a new production of Hamlet, infused with the passion, contemplation and emotion that Shakespeare’s compelling poetry cries out for.

Read more >
Dates:
Wednesday, 30th September 2015 - 7:30pm
Thursday, 1st October 2015 - 7:30pm
Friday, 2nd October 2015 - 7:30pm
Saturday, 3rd October 2015 - 7:30pm
The Weir at the Theatre Royal

The Weir

Theatre’s power as an arena for storytelling meets the great Irish tradition of the bar room tale in Conor McPherson’s brilliant gem of a play about loss and the consolations of connection.

Read more >
Dates:
Thursday, 8th October 2015 - 7:30pm
Friday, 9th October 2015 - 7:30pm
Saturday, 10th October 2015 - 7:30pm
Flak at the Theatre Royal Backspace

Flak

PERFORMED IN THE THEATRE ROYAL BACKSPACE

Based on his two best-selling books, Flak and Fly, well-known writer and performer Michael Veitch presents Flak

Read more >
Dates:
Thursday, 15th October 2015 - 8:00pm
Friday, 16th October 2015 - 8:00pm
Saturday, 17th October 2015 - 8:00pm
Wednesday, 21st October 2015 - 8:00pm
Thursday, 22nd October 2015 - 8:00pm
Friday, 23rd October 2015 - 8:00pm
Saturday, 24th October 2015 - 8:00pm
And Then, We Learn Nothing at the Theatre Royal Backspace

And Then,
We Learn Nothing

PERFORMED IN THE THEATRE ROYAL BACKSPACE

Blue Cow’s investigation into the events before, during and after the Charlie Hebdo shootings.

Read more >
Dates:
Tuesday, 17th November 2015 - 8:00pm
Wednesday, 18th November 2015 - 8:00pm
Thursday, 19th November 2015 - 8:00pm
Friday, 20th November 2015 - 8:00pm
Saturday, 21st November 2015 - 8:00pm
The Fugly Duckling at the Theatre Royal

The Fugly Duckling

Regular theatre-goers in Hobart have come to love the annual Bawdy Panto. Now in its 13th year!

Read more >